RSS

Who knew he didn’t want to wear his bibs?

17 Mar

Ollie woke up on the wrong side of the crib yesterday.

Everything was a struggle. Every little thing caused a fuss. It may have been a difficult day, had we not had this little gem of his personality shining through.

Nearly every morning, he wakes up wet. Not a little wet, but down to his toes wet. Nearly every morning, when I get him up, I pick out his outfit for the day.

Yesterday, I went with bibs. Cute as a button engineering bibs. I was happy they were clean, he’s so cute in them. He took them from me and carried them out to the living room, sat down and started figuring out the buckles. Normal Ollie behavior.

Preparing to get him ready for the day, I started getting those bibs on him.

He cried.

Check that, he didn’t just cry, he wailed. Like Lucille Ball. Face to the sky, mouth wide open, eyes squinshed shut.

Thinking he was sad he was losing the buckles to play with, I got his other pair of bibs – with the same buckles – for him to play with. He was thrilled with having multiple sets of them to play with.

I thought this problem was solved.

I started again with the bibs.

Again with the wail. Again with the escaping my attempts.

There was a pair of regular jeans nearby. I asked him if he wanted to wear those jeans?

He nodded yes.

He nodded yes!

He calmly came over to me to put his jeans on. He wore them all day until he took them off in the evening and preferred pantsless playing.

Who knew he didn’t want to wear his bibs?

Obviously, Ollie knew.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Who knew he didn’t want to wear his bibs?

  1. BRO

    March 17, 2011 at 9:15 am

    So his haircut isn’t the only sign that he’s growing up!!

     
  2. Nicole Lemke

    March 17, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I wonder if it’s a comfort or fashion thing… Macy insists on pink or purple pants. I used to think it was because her pink pants are usually sweat pants and that was comfier than denim. But the other day she wanted purple denim pants and was perfectly content….

    Oh, this relates to quite a few posts ago, but I have a friend who gives her son the fish oil (not for speech apashia but for ADHD stuff- he’s in kindergarten). She says it’s pretty spendy for the non-mercury stuff, but at least for what she uses it for she has been very surprised & pleased with results.

     
    • earlyollie

      March 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm

      It cracks me up that they have these preferences. Insisting on pink or purple pants? Awesome! I guess I’m still getting used to the idea that Ollie can have an opinion and am surprised that it’s not the same as mine…go figure.

      Ahhh…Mercury Free Fish Oil. Didn’t think about that; good detail there. Love to hear about success stories with something I’m thinking about trying on the little fella!

       

Leave a Reply

 
