RSS

Happy Mother’s Day to Me!

17 May

Sometimes I forget my son is a boy.

I mean, I know he’s a baby boy, but then you get these hints that he won’t always be just a baby who happens to be a boy. He’ll be “All Boy” as family members are apt to put it. Typically, boys that are “All Boy” are the ones running around with boogers in their pockets and doing things like the SDT*.

The assumption being that those who are “All Boy” are rough and tumble, dirtier, and from someone who was a little girl at one point: just plain gross.

Picking out a good one.

Here’s my boy on Mother’s Day. Picking out a good one, I’m sure. On Mother’s Day, he realized that his nose was a great place to store his finger. The day meant to show Moms how much they’re appreciated; how much their work is necessary, and I am rewarded by a little boy who learned how to pick his nose.

And it hasn’t quit in the week since! Most of the day, you’ll find Ollie with his pointer finger knuckle-deep up in there, and a scolding MOM voice: “AH-li-VER! Finger OUT of your NOSE!” (notice the use of his full name in all of its syllables?)

So that was my Mother’s Day gift: the scolding mom-tone I never had a use for before now.

Eh. It’s not really all that bad. He’s lucky he’s cute, though.

Speaking of cute…

Ollie realized our house has more rooms that just our living room. His rolling takes him to the all the other rooms on our first floor, with me closely following behind.  We call him our little Magellan, he’s such a discoverer of new worlds.  He’s now kicked the oven, dishwasher, gotten lost under the kitchen table and chairs and found the cat food dish.  Soooo not a fan of it. And he smelled so bad of cat food that I had to change his shirt shortly after the discovery.

Not a fan of the cat food...

It really is sort of exhausting, “chasing a ‘toddler’ ’round all day.” It’s also kind of entertaining, when he’s discovered his “new friend” in the mirror and spends some time making faces at his reflection….

Oh my goodness.

So this is what I’ve been up to. THIS little buddy is why I haven’t written a post in oh…about a year. It’s crazy ’round these parts, folks. Crazy just because I am following this kid around trying to get photographic evidence of this time, because I know it’ll go by too fast and he won’t be entertained by the kid who makes funny faces any longer.

He’ll be outside, having so much fun that instead of coming inside to hang out with his mommy, he’ll be sitting on his heel so he won’t have to come inside to poop. Doing the SDT.

*Thank you, Eric and Mike, for telling me about the Sitting Down Trick. Just a small speck of boyish things that my brothers came up with.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Happy Mother’s Day to Me!

  1. Older Mom

    May 18, 2010 at 1:00 am

    All Boy is right!! And when you see him doing the SDT you can use your Mom voice some more.

     

Leave a Reply

 
